Competition: Leinster Senior Cup   Venue: Tolka Park    Attendance:    Referee: Rhona Daly

Barry Clancy - Yellow Card (15')

David McGill - Goal (24')

John Sullivan - Goal (40')

Chris Mulhall - Goal (48')

Stephen Paisley - Goal (65')

Conan Byrne - Goal (74')

Conan Byrne - Goal (89')

Mon 13 Jun 2011

6 - 0

(Full Time)
Wexford Youths
Wexford Youths

Danny Furlong - Yellow Card (55')

Starting Lineup
(G) Paul Skinner
(D) Sean Byrne
(D) Gareth Matthews
(D) Stephen Paisley
(D) Ian Ryan
(M) Barry Clancy
(M) Colm James
(M) David McGill
(M) John Sullivan
(F) Karl Bermingham
(F) Chris Mulhall
Andrew Boyle
David Cassidy
Kevin Dawson
Dean Delany
Philip Hughes

Shelbourne 6 - 0 Wexford Youths
Published: June 13, 2011

Six goals saw Shels coast past Wexford Youths and into the Leinster Senior Cup semi-final. David McGill opened the scoring, with further goals from John Sullivan, Chris Mulhall, Stephen Paisley and a Conan Byrne brace.

The opening half saw few threats to the home goal, tended by Paul Skinner, with Wexford only mustering a few clear shots in the half. Skinner was forced to save a Ben Ryan shot on 14 minutes, but from then on Shels were almost completely in control.

David McGill had the best two chances of the opening ten minutes- shooting straight at Packie Holden from yards in front of goal on four minutes before seeing a shot from outside the box well saved by Wexford 'keeper Packie Holden two minutes later.

But McGill would later atone for these misses by opening the scoring after 25 minutes with a majestic goal. After picking the ball up about ten yards into the Wexford half, he dribbled past three Youths defenders with the ball at his feet before taking the ball around Packie Holden and tapping it in.

Holden was made to punch clear a Shels corner on 29 minutes and the home side continued to threaten his goal from set pieces. Indeed, their second goal came from their third corner of the match on 40 minutes. Barry Clancy put the ball in and John Sullivan jumped over his marker, just on the edge of the six-yard box, to head the ball powerfully past Holden.

The Youths began the second half having to deal with the same incisive attacking from Shels and weren't able to counter until well into the half. Shels made increased their lead on 48 minutes through a Chris Mulhall goal, with David McGill again having a hand in the build up. McGill cut the ball back for Mulhall to finish after some intricate passing.

Just before the hour mark, Wexford enjoyed something of a resurgence, testing Paul Skinner twice. First Ian Ryan was forced to hoof the ball clear after Danny Furlong put pressure on the Shels defence. Then Shane Nolan forced Paul Skinner to save a cross-cum-shot, but Noel O'Connor's side were fairly toothless on the night. The Shels lead soon became an insurmountable one, with Stephen Paisley heading a corner in to make it 4-0 after 65 minutes.

Nine minutes later, substitute Conan Byrne added further woe onto Wexford by adding a fifth goal. Shels did well to stretch the Youths defence and David McGill played a pinpoint pass to an unmarked Byrne on the far side of goal. Byrne ran in one-on-one with Holden and finished between the 'keepers legs. As if that wasn't enough, Byrne capped an efficient Shels performance with a last-minute goal. Barry Clancy did well down the wing to stretch the Wexford defence, McGill played a pinpoint pass for Byrne at the far post, and the winger volleyed superbly to score and cap an excellent team display.

Shelbourne: Paul Skinner; Gareth Matthews, Sean Byrne [Philip Hughes,'68], Ian Ryan, Stephen Paisley; John Sullivan [Kevin Dawson 85'], David McGill, Colm James, Barry Clancy, Chris Mulhall [Conan Byrne '68] , Karl Bermingham
Subs Not Used: Dean Delany, Andy Boyle.

Wexford Youths: Packie Holden, Shane Nolan, Dean Broaders, Martin Kehoe, Karl Keogh, Paul Malone, Ben Ryan [Kevin Rowe '66], Craig Wall, Danny Furlong, Darragh Walshe [Robert Dempsey '83], David Grincell
Subs Not Used: Muzzy Mullen.

Referee: Rhona Daly Man of the Match: David McGill

Niall Farrell

Niall Farrell is our correspondent at Tolka Park, covering the goings-on at Shelbourne. You can visit Niall's website for further information and contact details-

Starting Lineup
(G) Packie Holden
(D) Paul Malone
(D) Karl Keogh
(D) Martin Kehoe
(D) Dean Broaders
(M) Darragh Walshe
(M) Craig Wall
(M) Shane Nolan
(F) Ben Ryan
(F) David Grincell
(F) Danny Furlong
Kevin Rowe
Michael Mullen
Robert Dempsey