FAI International Football Awards nominations announced
Published: February 03, 2013

There are two former Airtricity League stars in the running for senior accolades at the International Player of the Year Awards on Sunday 3rd of February.


Former Cork City striker Kevin Doyle may have to vacant his seat twice at the awards as he is in the running for both Senior International Player of the Year, and International Goal of the Year for his late winner against Kazakhstan last September.


Doyle will face stiff competition for the Senior Player award from Wigan central midfielder James McCarthy, who has been in sparkling form for both Club and Country in the last twelve months. Rounding off the nominees is Keith Andrews. The influential midfielder was one of only a few who escaped from EURO 2012 with some credibility, and has continued his from with Championship side Bolton Wanderers so far this season.


Young Player of the Year award sees James McCarthy nominated again, along with Robbie Brady of Hull City, and Seamus Coleman. The former Sligo Rovers man has just recently signed a new five and a half year deal with Premier League giants Everton.


Domestically, three Sligo Rovers league winners are in the running for Airtricity League Player of the Year, although two of the nominees now ply their trade in Dublin with Shamrock Rovers. Jason McGuinness and Mark Quigley have been nominated alongside Sligo captain Danny Ventre, for bringing the League title back to the Showgrounds for the first time since 1977.


Louise Quinn of Peamount United in the Women's National League has been nominated for Senior Women’s Player of the Year alongside Arsenal duo Ciara Grant and Emma Byrne, whilst Castlebar Celtic player Emma Hansberry has been nominated for Under 19’s Player of the Year, along with Cork Women pair Clare Shine and Ciara O’Connell. 


The Awards will be televised on RTE Two at 8pm on Sunday the 3rd of February. 


The nominations, which were chosen by a panel from the Soccer Writers' Association of Ireland, are divided into 18 categories. Among the awards being presented at the special ceremony, a former Republic of Ireland great will be inducted into the FAI's Hall of Fame, while there will also be a Special Merit Award, and an International Personality of the Year Award, all of which will be announced at the event.


‘3’FAI International Football Awards Nominees


Senior International Player of the Year      

James McCarthy  (Wigan Athletic)

Keith Andrews (Bolton Wanderers)

Kevin Doyle (Wolves)


Young International Player of the Year       

Robbie Brady (Hull City)

Seamus  Coleman (Everton)

James McCarthy (Wigan Athletic)


3 International Goal of the Year   

Marc Wilson (Stoke)

Robbie Brady (Hull City)

Kevin Doyle (Wolves)


Airtricity League Player of the Year             

Jason McGuiness (Shamrock Rovers)

Mark Quigley       (Shamrock Rovers)

Danny Ventre      (Sligo Rovers)



Under 21 International Player of the Year 

Aidan White         (Leeds)

Robbie Brady       (Hull City)

John Egan             (Sunderland)


Under 19 International Player of the Year 

Anthony               Forde     (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC)

John O'Sullivan    (Blackburn Rovers FC)

Sean McDermott (Sandnes Ulf FC)


Under 17 International Player of the Year 

Sean Long             (Reading)

Jack Grealish        (Aston Villa)

Ryan O’Reilly        (Stoke City)


Under 16 International Player of the Year 

James Talbot        (Home Farm FC)

Dan Casey            (St. Joseph’s Boys AFC)

Cemal Ramadan  (Ipswich Town FC)


Senior Women's International Player of the Year    

Louise Quinn        (Peamount United)

Ciara Grant          (Arsenal)

Emma Byrne        (Arsenal)


Under 19 Women's International Player of the Year             

Ciara O'Connell    (Cork Ladies)

Clare Shine           (Cork Ladies)

Emma Hansberry               (Castlebar Celtic)


Under 17 Women's International Player of the Year             

Lisa Casserly        (Castlebar Celtic)

Meagan Connolly               (College Corinthians Cork)

Lauren Dwyer      (Wexford Ladies)


Junior International Player of the Year       

Adrian Walsh (Carrick United)

Christopher Higgins (St Michaels FC)

Paul Murphy (Sherriff YC)


Intermediate Player of the Year   

David O'Sullivan  (Wayside Celtic)

Gerry Gill              (Cockhill Celtic)

Brian Murphy      (Avondale United)


Football for All International Player of the Year       

Roy Keating (Irish Deaf Team)

Shane Morrisey (Irish Football For All Schools U-19 Team)

Davy Byrne (Irish Homeless World Cup Team)


FAI School's International Player of the Year            

Sean Maguire (CBS Kilkenny)

Brian Lenihan (Presentation Brothers College (PBC) School, Cork)

Pierce Sweeney (Coláiste Raithin, Bray)


Damien Byrne

Damien Byrne joined the Extratime.ie team for the 2012 season. He is a Dublin based freelance reporter who is partial to a Friday in Richmond Park, and can be contacted at damienbyrne1992@gmail.com or on twitter at @damienbyrne92

More articles from Damien Byrne

image description Photographer: Ger Holmes

Paddy Madden signs for Scunthorpe United

by Damien Byrne on Fri, Jan 10 2014

Former Bohemian F.C. striker Paddy Madden has ended a frustrating season with Yeovil Town by signing for Sky Bet League ...... Read more

image description Photographer: Steve Alfred

Galway FC confirm Connolly signing

by Damien Byrne on Thu, Jan 09 2014

Newly formed Galway FC has announced the signing of exciting young midfielder Ryan Connolly.... Read more

image description Photographer: Jason O'Callaghan

Shane Dolan signs for Shels

by Damien Byrne on Thu, Jan 09 2014

Striker Shane Dolan has made a return to the League of Ireland signing for First Division side Shelbourne.... Read more

England v Ireland: A Brief History

by Damien Byrne on Wed, May 29 2013

Damien Byrne takes a look at the history of the England v Ireland fixture... Read more

St Patrick's Athletic 1 - 2 Dundalk

by Damien Byrne on Tue, Apr 02 2013

Dundalk left Inchicore with all three points thanks to goals from John Dillon and Kurtis Byrne either side of a ...... Read more

St. Patrick's Athletic -v- Shelbourne

by Damien Byrne on Mon, Mar 18 2013

The Saints will be looking to bounce back from a bitterly disappointing performance against Shamrock Rovers last Friday night, going ...... Read more