Competition: EA Sports Cup   Venue: The Showgrounds    Attendance: Unknown   Referee: Unknown
Sligo Rovers
Sligo Rovers

John Russell - Goal (22')

Joseph Ndo - Goal (31')

Alan Keane - Yellow Card (80')

Eoin Doyle - Goal (85')

Padraig Amond - Goal (90')

Tue 01 Jun 2010

4 - 1

(Full Time)
St. Patrick's Ath
St. Patrick's Ath

Damian Lynch - Yellow Card (31')

Alex Williams - Yellow Card (66')

Conor Sinnott - Goal (70')

Starting Lineup
(G) Richard Brush
(D) Iarfhlaith Davoren
(D) Alan Keane
(D) Gavin Peers
(D) Danny Ventre
(M) John Dillon
(M) Joseph Ndo
(M) John Russell
(M) Richie Ryan
(F) Padraig Amond
(F) Eoin Doyle
Mark Doninger
Ciaran Kelly
Gary McCabe
Jason McCartney
Conor O'Grady

Sligo Rovers 4 - 1 St. Patrick's Athletic
Published: June 02, 2010

Sligo Rovers progressed to the semi finals of the EA Sports League Cup on Tuesday night as they continued their fine home form putting four goals past Pete Mahon's St Patrick's Athletic.

Pat's have proven to be somewhat a bogey team for Sligo this season having being beaten by the Inchicore outfit four times already this season in the Airtricity League and Setanta Cup. It was Paul Cook's men who were victorious this time though, as Pat's never looked like they'd take a win from The Showgrounds.

Rovers took the lead in on 21 minutes, a Richie Ryan free kick from the edge of the box after Eoin Doyle was impeded found John Russell at the back post for his second goal for his new club. The home side doubled their lead nine minutes later after some neat play between Joey Ndo and Padraig Amond saw the Cameroon striker volley the ball past Dan Connor. Pat's had chances, and David McAllister saw his header come back of the post in just before half time.

More Pat's pressure eventually told on the Rovers defence in the 70th minute as Conor Sinnott saw the ball beyond Richard Brush in the Sligo goal. Conor O'Grady was lucky to stay on the pitch as he attempted to guide the ball away from the goal with his hand. Referee Neil Doyle only saw fit to book the Rovers captain after some confusion between Doyle and his linesman as to who the guilty party actually was.

Rovers restored their two goal lead in the 86th minute. Gary McCabe found Eoin Doyle at the Pat's back post after a quick counter attack before Padraig Amond shot past Connor to confirm Sligo's place in the last four.

Sligo Rovers: Richard Brush; Alan Keane, Gavin Peers, Danny Ventre, Iarfhlaith Davoren; Eoin Doyle, Richie Ryan, John Russell (Conor O’Grady 60), John Dillon (Gary McCabe 60); Joseph Ndo, Padraig Amond.
Subs not used: Ciaran Kelly, Jason McCartney, Mark Doninger.

St Patrick's Athletic: Dan Connor; Damian Lynch, Shane Guthrie (Neil Harney 84), Conor Kenna, Ian Bermingham (Noel Haverty ht); Conor Sinnott, David Mulcahy, David McAllister, Derek Doyle (Ryan Guy 75); Alex Williams, Paul Byrne.
Subs not used: Stuart Byrne, Gary Rogers.

Referee: Neil Doyle (Dublin).
Attendance: 1,300
Extra Time Man Of The Match: Richie Ryan

Starting Lineup
(G) Dan Connor
(D) Ian Bermingham
(D) Shane Guthrie
(D) Conor Kenna
(D) Damian Lynch
(M) Derek Doyle
(M) David McAllister
(M) Dave Mulcahy
(M) Conor Sinnott
(F) Paul Byrne
(F) Alex Williams
Stuart Byrne
Ryan Guy
Neil Harney
Noel Haverty
Gary Rogers